All insights
Instrument plate showing the numeral 3 mounted on a dimension line, with three price markers drawn blank beside it
Why EdTech, Why NowMay 14, 20267 min read

Every MENA EdTech Exit Went to a Foreign Buyer or an Undisclosed Price

Three MENA EdTech acquisitions in the last two years are documented well enough to name both sides and a date. Not one of them has a disclosed price, and the two largest buyers are American.

Across the twenty-four months to August 2026, five MENA EdTech acquisitions appear anywhere in regional reporting. Three of them are documented well enough to name the buyer, the target and the date.

None of the five has a disclosed price.

Announced Target Acquirer Buyer based in Price
15 April 2025 Little Thinking Minds, Jordan Seesaw United States undisclosed
13 November 2025 Optima, UAE DataCamp United States not in the release; one outlet says $15m
28 January 2026 Apex Education, Egypt Abwaab Jordan undisclosed
22 April 2026 Rubikal iSchool Egypt undisclosed
26 November 2024 Eduba, Iraq not stated "seven-figure"

The last two rows come from Wamda's EdTech index, which gives a headline, a date and an amount but which we have not corroborated against the underlying articles. Treat them as lower confidence. The top three we can stand behind.

What the three deals actually were

Seesaw and Little Thinking Minds. Little Thinking Minds was founded in Jordan in 2004 by Lamia Tabbaa and Rama Kayyali and reached more than 400,000 students across more than 10 countries. Its cap table is a roll-call of the region's institutional investors: Algebra Ventures led its 2018 Series A, alongside Mindshift Capital, Al Turki Ventures, ISSF, the Women's Angel Investor Network and Oasis500. Seesaw, an American classroom platform, said the combined entities would serve more than 800,000 users at more than 3,000 schools and ministries, and that it would launch its first Arabic-language platform in 2026.

A company founded in 2004, with named institutional backers across two decades, sold in 2025 at a price nobody outside the transaction knows.

DataCamp and Optima. Optima was founded in Dubai in 2023 and raised $1.1 million from COTU Ventures plus angels from Careem, Kitopi, Talabat and Docebo. Its founder, Yusuf Saber, became DataCamp's Chief AI Officer. The official announcement discloses no value. One trade outlet reports $15 million. We publish both because the sources disagree and neither can be checked against the other.

Read the rest of that announcement, though, because it explains the deal. On the same day, DataCamp launched free Classrooms access across the UAE covering more than 500 courses, plus six months of free introductory AI training for UAE government employees and students. The acquisition and the market-entry campaign were one press release. What DataCamp bought was a route into the country.

Abwaab and Apex Education. Jordan's Abwaab acquired Egypt's Apex Education in January 2026, value undisclosed. This is the only deal in the window where both sides are in the region. Even here the record is soft: Wamda's own article lists Abwaab's markets as Jordan, Egypt and Pakistan, while other coverage in the same period lists Jordan, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Oman. Two published accounts of where a company operates, and they do not match.

An undisclosed price is a market problem, not a privacy preference

Founders and acquirers have perfectly ordinary reasons to keep a number private. That is not the argument here.

The argument is what happens when every number is private.

There are no comparables. A seed investor in this region cannot mark a portfolio position against a transaction, because there are no transactions with prices. A founder receiving an offer cannot tell whether it is good, because there is nothing to compare it with. The only people who know what MENA EdTech assets are worth are the handful of buyers who have bought one, and they have every reason not to say.

Silence is compatible with both outcomes. An undisclosed price is what a strong result looks like when the buyer does not want its competitors to know what it paid. It is also what a rescue looks like when nobody wants to call it one. From the outside, they are the same announcement. That ambiguity works for the seller, works for the buyer, and costs the next founder in the region who has to price a decision against it.

The asset being bought is the region, not the software. Seesaw said it would launch its first Arabic-language platform in 2026. DataCamp bought a UAE market entry and announced free national access on the same day. That is the honest read on what a foreign strategic buyer wants from a MENA EdTech company: Arabic content, an Arabic-speaking user base, ministry and school relationships, and a local team. It is not a criticism of the companies that sold. It is a description of the demand.

The one price the region can see is negative

There is exactly one MENA EdTech transaction with a public, continuously updated price, and it is a listing rather than an acquisition.

Alef Education listed on the Abu Dhabi Securities Exchange on 12 June 2024, the first EdTech company to list in the UAE. It raised AED 1.89 billion — about $515 million — by selling 1.4 billion shares at AED 1.35, representing 20% of the company, at a listing market capitalisation of AED 9.45 billion. The retail tranche was oversubscribed 74 times.

At the close on 27 August 2026 the shares traded at AED 0.9630, a market capitalisation of AED 6.74 billion. That is 28.7% below the offer price and the same 28.7% below the listing valuation. The one-year return was −4.65%.

The company is not in trouble. Trailing-twelve-month revenue was AED 773.75 million, up 1.5%, on net income of AED 485.17 million, up 7.0%. It is profitable and growing modestly. The market simply will not pay what it paid at listing.

So the complete public price record for MENA EdTech is: five acquisitions with no disclosed price, and one listed company trading nearly thirty per cent below where it came to market while earning money. That is the evidence base a founder in this region is asked to plan an outcome against.

Even the count is contested. Tracxn's database reports 23 acquisitions and 15 IPOs in its MENA EdTech universe as of its 30 July 2026 snapshot — but its MENA includes Israel: its top-funded companies are Masterschool at $100 million and Simply at $93 million, and its most active investor is the Israeli accelerator MindCET, none of which appear in MAGNiTT's, Wamda's or HolonIQ's MENA. The same Tracxn page returned 2,310 companies and $633 million raised in one snapshot and 2,672 companies and $655 million in another. Before you can count the exits, you have to agree what MENA is, and the databases do not.

What we read into it

The realistic outcome for a MENA EdTech company at present is a strategic tuck-in to a foreign platform that wants the region, at a price neither side will publish. That is not a failure state. Little Thinking Minds put a product built in Jordan since 2004 into a platform with global distribution, and Seesaw is building its first Arabic-language platform because of it.

It does set the shape of the plan, though, and the shape is not the one most decks describe. In a market with one disclosed round above $10 million in two years — ULA's $28 million Series B in February 2025 — the growth financing that would take a company to a larger, priced outcome mostly is not available. The tuck-in is not the fallback. For now it is the central case.

[FIKR TO CONFIRM: whether Fikr underwrites to this exit shape, what hold period it assumes, and how it prices a position when there are no comparable transactions.]

What a founder should do about it

Build the thing a foreign platform cannot build for itself. Arabic curriculum alignment, ministry relationships, teacher networks, and content with real usage behind it. Those are what the two US buyers in this window actually purchased. A general-purpose product with a thin localisation layer is the thing they build in-house instead.

Negotiate for the right to disclose. Ask for it in the term sheet, before it becomes a concession you are seeking after signing. If you cannot get the number, get permission to publish a range, a multiple, or the fact that the price exceeded total capital raised. Anything is more useful to the next founder than nothing.

Do not model a US-style venture exit off comparables that do not exist. If your plan assumes a priced acquisition at a published multiple, name the transaction in this region that establishes it. There isn't one.

Watch who else is buying. Abwaab is the only regional company to have bought another in this window. If intra-regional consolidation becomes normal, the price record improves, because regional buyers have less reason to hide what they paid than a foreign platform entering a new market does.

Three documented deals, no prices, and one listed company nearly thirty per cent under water. That is the entire public record a MENA EdTech founder can price against, and it is why the next disclosed number in this market is worth more than the deal it describes.

Sources

  1. 01Seesaw acquired Little Thinking Minds, announced 15 April 2025, value undisclosed. Little Thinking Minds was founded in 2004 by Lamia Tabbaa and Rama Kayyali and reached more than 400,000 students across more than 10 countries. The combined entities serve more than 800,000 users at more than 3,000 schools and ministries, and Seesaw said it would launch its first Arabic-language platform in 2026. — Seesaw, April 15, 2025
  2. 02Little Thinking Minds was backed by Algebra Ventures, which led its 2018 Series A, alongside Mindshift Capital, Al Turki Ventures, ISSF, the Women's Angel Investor Network and Oasis500 — Wamda, April 15, 2025
  3. 03DataCamp acquired Optima, announced 13 November 2025; the press release does not disclose a value. Optima was founded in Dubai in 2023 by Yusuf Saber, who became DataCamp's Chief AI Officer. DataCamp simultaneously launched free Classrooms access in the UAE covering more than 500 courses, and six months of free Intro to AI access for UAE government employees and students. — PR Newswire (DataCamp), November 13, 2025
  4. 04Optima had raised $1.1m from COTU Ventures plus angel investors from Careem, Kitopi, Talabat and Docebo — Wamda, November 13, 2025
  5. 05One trade outlet reports the DataCamp acquisition of Optima at $15m (AED 55m); the official release discloses no value — fwdstart, November 13, 2025
  6. 06Abwaab acquired Apex Education of Egypt on 28 January 2026, value undisclosed; the article lists Abwaab's markets as Jordan, Egypt and Pakistan, while other coverage lists Jordan, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Oman — Wamda, January 28, 2026
  7. 07iSchool acquired Rubikal, reported 22 April 2026, value undisclosed; Iraqi EdTech Eduba was acquired for a seven-figure amount, reported 26 November 2024, acquirer not stated — Wamda EdTech index, August 30, 2026
  8. 08Alef Education listed on the ADX Main Market on 12 June 2024 under ticker ALEFEDT, the first EdTech company to list in the UAE, raising AED 1.89bn ($515m) by selling 1.4bn shares at AED 1.35, representing 20% of the company, at a listing market capitalisation of AED 9.45bn; the retail tranche was oversubscribed 74 times — Dealroom, June 12, 2024
  9. 09As of the 27 August 2026 close ALEFEDT traded at AED 0.9630 with a market capitalisation of AED 6.74bn, a 52-week range of AED 0.9070 to 1.1800 and a one-year return of −4.65%; trailing-twelve-month revenue was AED 773.75m, up 1.5%, and net income AED 485.17m, up 7.0%. AED 0.9630 against the AED 1.35 offer price is 28.7% below issue, and AED 6.74bn against AED 9.45bn is the same 28.7% below the listing valuation. — StockAnalysis.com, August 27, 2026
  10. 10Tracxn counts 2,672 MENA EdTech companies, 332 of them funded, $655m raised in total, 63 at Series A or later, 23 acquisitions and 15 IPOs, as of its 30 July 2026 snapshot; its top-funded MENA EdTech companies are Masterschool ($100m) and Simply ($93m) and its most active investor is MindCET, all Israeli. An earlier snapshot of the same page returned 2,310 companies, 305 funded, $633m raised and 51 at Series A or later. — Tracxn, July 30, 2026
  11. 11MENA EdTech: one disclosed round above $10m in the 24 months to August 2026 — ULA, $28m Series B, led by Rua Growth Fund with Jordan Capital & Investment Fund and Foursan Group — Wamda, February 11, 2025